International Symposium on Molecular Spectroscopy

Hybrid Meeting - June 20-24, 2022

divider image
divider image

Flygare Awards

The first Flygare Award Lectures were presented at the 70th ISMS meeting and are given out biannually to early career independent scientists who showcase outstanding contributions in molecular spectroscopy.

To be eligible, nominees must have received their PhD between five and ten years ago, must have presented at least one previous talk at the Symposium, and must be available to deliver a lecture during a plenary session in the year they apply. Candidates will be evaluated based on their independent contributions relative to the time that has elapsed since their PhD.

The next Flygare Award Lectures will be presented at the 75th ISMS meeting (in 2022).

Nominations must include a CV, a one-page summary of the nominee's independent research contributions, three letters of recommendation (submitted separately). Self-nominations are encouraged, but nominations by senior molecular spectroscopists are equally welcome. For full consideration, all materials should be submitted by email to Birgit at by January 7, 2022.

divider image

Past Flygare Award Winners

Year Winners University
2019 Chris Johnson Stony Brook University
2019 Garry "Smitty" Grubbs, II Missouri University of Science and Technology
2017 Etienne Garand University of Wisconsin, Madison
2017 Jinjun Liu University of Louisville
2015 Emilio J. Cocinero Universidad del PaĆ­Vasco (UPV-EHU)
2015 Richard Dawes Missouri University of Science and Technology
2015 Susanna Widicus Weaver Emory University
2015 Shanshan Yu Jet Propulsion Laboratory