International Symposium on Molecular Spectroscopy

70th Meeting - June 22-26, 2015 - Champaign-Urbana, Illinois

divider image
divider image


Jens-Uwe Grabow

Martina Havenith
Ruhr University Bochum

Mitchio Okumura
California Institute of Technology

Arthur Suits
Wayne State University


In celebration of its 70th meeting, the International Symposium on Molecular Spectroscopy is calling for nominations for Flygare Award Lectures, which will showcase outstanding contributions in molecular spectroscopy by early career independent scientists. To be eligible, nominees must have received their PhD between November 15, 2004 and November 14, 2009, must have presented at least one previous talk at the Symposium, and must be available to deliver a lecture during a plenary session at the 70th Symposium (June 22-26, 2015). Candidates will be evaluated based on their independent contributions relative to the time that has elapsed since their PhD.

Nominations must include a CV, a one-page summary of the nominee's independent research contributions, and up to three letters of recommendation (submitted separately). Self-nominations are encouraged, but nominations by senior molecular spectroscopists are equally welcome. For full consideration, all materials should be submitted by email to by November 15, 2014.

Emilio J. Cocinero
Universidad del País Vasco (UPV-EHU)

Richard Dawes
Missouri University of Science and Technology

Susanna Widicus Weaver
Emory University

Shanshan Yu
Jet Propulsion Laboratory


Gary E. Douberly
University of Georgia


Christopher Leavitt
University of Georgia

divider image


Accelerator-Based Spectroscopy

Organized by Jos Oomens (Radboud University, Nijmegen) and
Jennifer van Wijngaarden (University of Manitoba)

This mini-symposium will highlight spectroscopic techniques and the latest results from research conducted at synchrotron and free electron laser facilities. Invited Speakers: Robert Georges (Université de Rennes), Terry McMahon (University of Waterloo), Gaël Mouret (Université du Littoral Côte d'Opale), and Gert von Helden (Fritz-Haber-Institut, Berlin, Germany)

Spectroscopy in the Classroom

Organized by Stephen Cooke (Purchase College, SUNY) and
Andrea Minei (College of Mount St. Vincent)

This mini-symposium will focus on pedagogic innovation in molecular spectroscopy including affordable experiments, teacher resources, misused scientific terms, and perspectives on education in our field. Invited Speakers: Geoffrey A. Blake (California Institute of Technology) and Colin Western (University of Bristol)

High-Precision Spectroscopy

Organized by Mike Heaven (Emory University) and Trevor Sears (Brookhaven National Lab)

This mini-symposium will cover all aspects of frequency comb generation, metrology and precision spectroscopy. Invited Speakers: Thomas K. Allison (Stony Brook University), Ian Coddington (National Institute of Standards and Technology), David Long (National Institute of Standards and Technology), Hiroyuki Sasada (Keio University), and Wim Ubachs (VU University Amsterdam)

divider image


YearTitle (number of half day sessions)OrganizersInvited Speakers
2014Astronomical Molecular Spectroscopy in the Age of ALMA (5)Leslie Looney and Anthony Remijan Ted Bergin, Geoffrey Blake
2014Beyond the Mass-to-Charge Ratio: Spectroscopic Probes of the Structures of Ions (3)Mike Duncan and Tim Zwier Knut Asmis, Yuan-Pern Lee, Cheuk-Yiu Ng
2014Spectroscopy in Kinetics and Dynamics (3)Martin Gruebele and Iam Sims Toshinori Suzuki, Joel Bowman, Ian Sims
2013Spectroscopy of Planetary Atmospheres (2)Vincent Boudon and Peter Bernath Pierre Coheur, Glenn Orton, Jonathan Tennyson
2013Spectroscopy Tests of Fundamental Physics (3)Wim Ubachs and Tim Steimle Peter Schwerdtfeger, Wim Ubachs
2013Theory and Spectroscopy (4)John Stanton Cristina Puzzarini, Jon Hougen, Horst Koeppel, Timothy Lee
2012Cold Quantum Systems (3)Gary Douberly and David Anderson Takamasa Momose, Pierre-Nicholas Roy, Kenneth Brown, Marcel Drabbels
2012Spectroscopy of Liquid and Cluster Interfaces (2)Michael Duncan Rich Saykally, Heather Allen
2012Ultimate Electronic Transitions - Photodetachment and Photoionization (3)Caroline Chick Jarrold Daniel Neumark, Frederic Merkt
2011Molecular Spectroscopy in Support of Fundamental Physics (2)Trevor Sears and Neil Shafer-Ray David Demille, Jens-Uwe Grabow
2011Spectroscopic Perturbations: Molecules Behaving Badly? (3)Robert W. Field Robert Field, Anthony Merer, Mark Child
2011The THz Cosmos (2)Eric Herbst Maryvonne Gerin, Ted Bergin
2010Biomolecules and Cluster Ions (2)Tom Rizzo and Fleming Crim Thomas Rizzo, Timothy Zwier, Mark Johnson
2010Metal Containing Molecules (4)Michael Duncan Michael Heaven, Andre Fielicke, Lucy Ziurys, Michael Duncan
2010Precision/Frequency Combs (2)Ben McCall and Jun Ye Ronald Holzwarth, Ronald Walsworth
2009Cavity Enhanced Spectroscopy (3)Andrew Orr-Ewing and Kevin Lehmann Jun Ye, Steven Brown, Andreas Brockhinke
2009Conical Intersections (2)Scott Reid and Spiridoula Matsika Todd Martinez, David Jonas
2009FIR/THz Air/Space Missions (3)Li-Hong Xu and John Pearson Holger Mü Karl Menten, Frank De Lucia, Bob McKellar
2008Cold Molecules/Clusters (4)Frederic Merkt Andrey Vilesov, Stefan Willitsch, Uzi Even, Eberhard Tiemann
2008Multi-Dimensional IR (2)Marty Zanni Timothy Zwier, Chris Cheatum, Igor Rubtsov
2008THz Spectroscopy (2)David Plusquellic and Edwin Heilweil Peter Uhd Jepsen, Joseph Melinger, Frank De Lucia
2007Alkali dimers and long-range molecules (2)Bob Field and Amanda Ross David Demille, Paul Julienne
2007Dynamics Probed by Spectroscopy (2)Rich Loomis and Scott Reid Scott Kable, Carl Lineberger, Simon North
2007Theoretical/Computational Spectroscopy (5)Anne McCoy and Jon Hougen James Muckerman, David Perry, Pierre-Nicholas Roy