International Symposium on Molecular Spectroscopy

Hybrid Meeting - June 20-24, 2022

divider image
divider image

Miller Prize

The Miller prize was created in honor of Professor Terry A. Miller, who served as chair of the International Symposium on Molecular Spectroscopy from 1992 to 2013. This prize will be awarded for the best presentation given by a recent PhD.

In order to be eligible for the Miller Prize, competitors must have their advisor certify by email to the Chair (see below), that the candidate: An author who wishes to compete for the Miller Prize should indicate this by checking the appropriate box in the Details area of the abstract submission page for the talk to be judged. The candidate should also arrange for a letter, certifying that the candidate meets the eligibility requirements above, to be sent by their research supervisor in an email message addressed to the Symposium Chair ( The letter should identify the talk abstract by its "P-number." This letter of certification is not a nomination letter and will not be considered by the prize judges.

The Miller Prize winner and his or her co-authors will be invited to submit an article to the Journal of Molecular Spectroscopy based on the research in the prize-winning talk. After passing the normal review process, the article will appear in the Journal with a caption identifying the paper with the talk that received the Miller Prize.

divider image

Past Miller Prize Winners

Year Winners University
2021 Jun Jiang Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
2019 Fang Liu Columbia University
2018 Amanda Steber University of Hamburg
2017 Leah Dodson NIST/JILA/CU Boulder
2016 Marie-Aline Martin-Drumel Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
2015 Paul Jansen ETH Zürich
2014 Christopher Leavitt University of Georgia