77th International Symposium on Molecular Spectroscopy

June 17-21, 2024

divider image
divider image

Rao Prize

The Rao Prize was created by a group of spectroscopists who, as graduate students, benefitted from the emphasis on graduate student participation, which has been a unique characteristic of the Symposium.

This coming June three more Rao Prizes will be awarded. In order to be eligible for the Rao Prize, a student must have their advisor certify by email to the Chair (see below), that the student: If a student wishes to compete for the Rao Prize, he or she should indicate this by checking the appropriate box in the Details area of the abstract submission page for the talk to be judged (due by March 1st).

They must also send a letter from the research supervisor certifying that the student meets all four of the above requirements. This letter of certification may be a simple email message addressed to Josh Vura-Weis (chair@isms.illinois.edu). The letter should identify the talk abstract by its P-number. The letter of certification is not a nomination letter and will not be considered by the prize judges.

Rao Prize winners and their co-authors are invited to submit articles to the Journal of Molecular Spectroscopy which are based on the research described in their talks. After passing the normal review process, each article will appear in the Journal with a caption identifying the paper with the talk that won the Rao Prize.

The award is administered by a Prize Committee chaired by Jennifer van Wijngaarden, University of Manitoba and comprised of Brooks Pate, University of Virginia; Maria Sanz, King's College London; Jacob Stewart, Connecticut College; and Tim Zwier, Purdue University. Any questions or suggestions about the Prize should be addressed to the Committee. Anyone (especially post-docs) willing to serve on a panel of judges should contact Jennifer van Wijngaarden (e-mail: vanwijng@cc.umanitoba.ca).

divider image

Past RAO Prize Winners

Year Winners University
2023 Gayatri Batra Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY)
2023 Ju Hyeon Lee Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft
2023 Kim Steenbakkers Radboud University
2022 Madison Foreman JILA
2022 Thomas Salomon University of Cologne
2022 Yue-Rou Zhang Brown University
2021 Parker Crandall Technische Universität Berlin
2021 Nicholas Hölsch ETH Zuerich
2021 Wey-Wey Su Stanford University
2021 James Thorpe University of Florida
2019 Mark Babin The University of California, Berkeley
2019 Lidor Foguel Yale University
2019 Sommer L. Johansen The University of California, Davis
2018 Zaijun Chen Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics
2018 Elijah Jans The Ohio State University
2018 Elizabeth Ryland University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2017 Bryce Bjork University of Colorado at Boulder
2017 Anna Huff University of Minnesota
2017 Christopher Shingledecker University of Virginia
2016 David Grimes MIT
2016 Kasper Mackeprang University of Copenhagen
2016 Josey E. Topolski Indiana University Bloomington
2015 Daniel Bakker Radboud University
2015 Scott Dubowsky The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2015 James McMillan The Ohio State University
2014 Grant Buckingham University of Colorado
2014 Kathryn Chew Yale University
2014 Yu-Hsuan Huang National Chiao Tung University
2013 Brett McGuire California Institute of Technology
2013 Gerard Dean O'Connor University of Sydney
2013 Stefan Truppe Imperial College London
2012 Nils Bartels Georg August Universitaet Goettingen
2012 Andrew Petit The Ohio State University
2012 Arron Wolk Yale University
2011 Adam J. Fleisher University of Pittsburgh
2011 Justin L. Neill University of Virginia
2011 Thomas J. Preston University of Wisconsin
2010 Hui-Ling Han National Chiao Tung University
2010 Samantha Horvath The Ohio State University
2010 Solveig Gaarn Olesen University of Copenhagen
2009 Amanda Case University of Wisconsin
2009 Andreas Hauser Graz University of Technology
2009 George Barratt Park MIT
2008 Frank Filsinger Max-Planck-Gesellschaft
2008 Jen Nicole Landry University of Alberta
2008 Fumie Xe Sunahori University of Kentucky
2007 George L. Barnes University of Wisconsin-Madison
2007 Michael A. Flory University of Arizona
2007 Erin N. Sharp The Ohio State University
2006 Jack Barbera JILA/University of Colorado
2006 Gary Douberly University of North Carolina
2006 Qing Wen University of Alberta
2005 Django Andrews University of Colorado
2005 José Lopez The Ohio State University
2005 Jaime A. Stearns Purdue University
2004 Jennifer L. Gottfried University of Chicago
2004 T.J. Ronningen The Ohio State University
2004 Melanie Schnell Universitat Hannover
2003 Romey Heuff University of Victoria
2003 William McNavage University of Pennsylvania
2003 Sergey Zalyubovsky The Ohio State University
2002 Sandhya Gopalakrishnan The Ohio State University
2002 Patrice Theulé Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
2002 Wilton Virgo Arizona State University
2001 Yaqian Liu University of Alberta
2001 Sherri Hunt University of Minnesota
2001 Alfredo Bracamonte Yale University
2000 Thomas Gilbert ETH Zurich
2000 Shoujun Xu John Hopkins University
2000 Jennifer Van Wijngaarden University of Alberta
2000 Jochen Kuepper Heinrich-Heine-Universitaet
1999 R. Timothy Bonn University of Pennsylvania
1999 Sachiko Itono Ochanomizu University
1999 Sabine F. Deppe Universitat Gottingen
1998 Timothy Barckholtz The Ohio State University
1998 Florian Reiche Universitat Gottingen
1998 Nathalie Picque CNRS
1997 Andrea Callegari Princeton University
1997 Christopher J. Gruenloh Purdue Uiversity
1997 Matthew P. Jacobson MIT
1996 Christopher Dennis Oxford University
1996 Damian Goodridge Oxford University
1996 Robert Neuhauser Technical University of Munich
1995 Weng-Ching Hung National Tsing Hua University
1995 James Phillips University of Minnesota
1995 Pey-Shiun Yeh National Tsing Hua University
1994 Jong-Ho Choi California Institute of Technology
1994 Russell John Low Oxford University
1994 Jonathan Paul O'Brien MIT
1993 Jenn Campbell University of Waterloo
1993 Hao Li Cornell University
1993 J. Bradley White University of Waterloo
1992 Toni Owen Barstis University of Michigan
1992 Kristine D. Hensel University of British Columbia
1992 Stephanie Ann Brandt Solina MIT
1991 David Ferguson The Ohio State University
1991 Elizabeth Piocos University of Cincinnati
1991 Eric S.J. Robles The Ohio State University